Thursday, Oct 19, 2017
mobile (706) 207-0927
Go Back
Chi Omega
The University of Georgia

Chi Omega, Mu Beta Chapter
324 Milledge Avenue, Athens, Georgia

Chi Omega was the second sorority established at the University of Georgia in 1922. By 1930, the Chi Omegas moved to the old Charles Phinizy home at 397 South Milledge Avenue (now the Gamma Phi Beta Sorority).  In 1960, desperately needing more dorm and parking space, the alumnae raised funds, purchased the lot and built this house at 324 South Milledge Avenue. The exterior, facing Milledge Avenue, is a one story neo-classic design according to architects Edwin Wade and Edmund Kuhlke of Augusta.  It is a frank departure from the stately Doric columned facade of the adjacent Kappa Alpha Theta House, so that the two houses complement each other in comparison. The interiors were designed by Edward Kilby of Atlanta. Many of the fine details such as the 19th century Baccarat crystal chandelier and sconces in the foyer from the George D. Thomas house in Athens (now an office building) as well as the candelabras on the mantle and the Steinway piano in the living room from Wormslow Plantation in Savannah were gifts of alumnae. The yard was designed and developed by Hubert Bond Owens, the founder of UGA’s School of Landscape Design, and the courtyard was redone in the 1990’s in memory of Chi Omega mothers by their daughters. Also in the 1990’s, the “Little House” was renovated by the Jeter family of Moultrie in memory of their daughter, Kate.
Beginning in 1961, the house at 324 South Milledge Avenue has been a warm, comfortable home to thousands of Mu Betas and the iconic from walk has welcomed countless girls into the continuing bonds of friendship in Chi Omega.